The Burning Questionnaire: Sue Lyon-Jones

Image credits below.

In July 2012, the month London got into full sporting swing on an international scale as Olympic host, our guest poster was lovely lady from Liverpool and songstress divine. Sue Lyon-Jones. You already know where she’s from, what she looks like, you may have even heard her singing but did you know……………..

What is your full name, and where did it all start?

My full name is Susan Lyon-Jones, although most people call me Sue. My mother decided to call me Susan because she liked the name and thought it was unusual. No doubt the mothers of the six other girls in my class called Susan probably thought the same 😉 The -Jones bit is borrowed from my husband, and got tacked on later.

What music do you listen to while driving/cooking/contemplating your navel?

I tend to listen to whatever friends are sharing on Facebook these days more often than not, though if I’m choosing my own music it’s generally laid back jazz, R&B, mellow soul, that kind of thing.

Image from eltpics by Phil Bird (@pysproblem81)

What’s the most satisfying – or frustrating – aspect of your job?

I enjoy most things to do with teaching and writing, and I count myself incredibly lucky to be in a position where I get to spend my days doing something that I love. The most frustrating thing without a doubt is the bureaucratic nonsense that seems to go hand in hand with the job these days, which has little if anything to do with teaching or learning, and frequently gets in the way of both!

Writing or teaching? Why?

Both really, although I’m going through a writing phase at the moment.

A teacher from your schooldays

Image from eltpics by @MrChrisJWilson

Herr Grace, my German teacher, or “Hairy Grace”, as we used to call him. He was good fun, and his lessons were always interesting, if you discount the bit where we were shunted off to language labs and made to sit there with headphones on for twenty minutes or so, repeating random phrases…

What was the first thing you learnt as a TEFL teacher?

I can’t remember if it was the first thing, but “expect the unexpected” springs to mind. It didn’t take long for the penny to drop that lessons in the real world rarely match the plan 😉

What motivates/inspires you most?

Sharing, collaborating, connecting with inspirational teachers, attending conferences and webinars, and #eltchat, which is great for sparking the creative juices!

Do you ever cry in the cinema?

All the time, and at the drop of a hat. I’m a sucker for a soppy film 🙂

Beans on toast and a cuppa, or langoustine salad, steak au poivre and a 1995 Rioja?

Image from eltpics by Ian James (@ij64)

 

I don’t eat meat so it would have to be beans on toast, although I’d swap the cup of tea for something a more alcoholic, if given the choice.

A dream?

To spend the winter months living somewhere warmer, with more sunshine and less rain!

Favourite book?

Difficult to say, as there are a fair few books on my favourites list, although To Kill a Mockingbird probably has the edge. It made a big impression on me when I read it in my teens.

Favourite film?

Once again, hard to say, as I’m a serious film buff and there are so many to choose from, but I’m going to opt for The Matrix, as it appeals to my inner geek!

Favourite poet?

Image from eltpics by Sandy Millin (@sandymillin)

I’m not sure I have a favourite poet (did I mention that I’m indecisive?) though if I had to pick a favourite poem it would be Warning, by Jenny Joseph. It’s a very funny poem about growing old disgracefully. In later life, I plan to use it as a blueprint 😉

“Image used in this blog are all photos taken from http://flickr.com/eltpics, here by @ij64, @MrChrisJWilson, @pysproblem81 and @sandymillin under a CC Attribution Non-Commercial licence, http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/”

One thought on “The Burning Questionnaire: Sue Lyon-Jones

  1. Pingback: Wave your flag | take a photo and….

Leave a Reply

