The Burning Questionnaire: Bruno Andrade

mosaicb695cac27760ffcd377e4aa78e04a90bdf6ca471At the end of 2012, James Taylor wrote a post for Take a photo and…, but he didn’t write it alone. His co-writer/contributor was one of the ELT world’s favourite Brazilian teachers, Bruno Andrade. So if you’d like to learn a little more about what makes Bruno tick, read on!

***************************************************************************************************

What is your full name, and where did it all start?

Bruno Cesar Nunes de Andrade. Well, long ago before my mom was expecting me she met a very cute and chubby baby whom she saw through the fence of a house in the little town where she still lives. She used to see that baby every day and when she found out his name she promised that when she had a baby she would name him after that cute baby! And I was blessed with not only one name but two! The second was a tribute to my dad who had been a very good friend till he passed away a couple of years ago. Now he protects me not only with his name, but with his constant and watchful guidance. 

What music do you listen to while driving/cooking/contemplating your navel?

Image by @fionamau at ELTpics

Image by @fionamau at ELTpics

 

Quite frankly, I am rather eclectic when it comes to music. My tastes range from the finest pieces of classical music to the latest Madonna album. I enjoy music quite a lot. What I listen to on my phone depends overtly on my mood. Or I just shuffle (music and attitude). I regularly skateboard and I listen to Morcheeba, Corinne Bailey Rae, Ben Harper, Bebel Gilberto, Adele, Marisa Monte, P!nk, Pete Murray, Rebecca Ferguson, Tracy Chapman, Florence + The Machine, Emeli Sandé, (are you still here? Lol) Calvin Harris, David Guetta, Beyoncé, India Arie, John Mayer, Donavon Frankenreiter….

What’s the most satisfying – or frustrating – aspect of your job?

It may sound like a cliché but watching people becoming independent users of the English Language makes me feel like I have the best job in the world.

Image by @Senicko at ELTpics

Image by @Senicko at ELTpics

Writing or teaching? Why?

Both. I blog (or I used to, at least) and that gave me a window into a new world. Expressing myself and getting opinions on what I do in class through writing is the one of the best professional development tools a teacher may have.

A teacher from your schooldays:

All of them have been precious to my career and to my life. Each of them impacted me somehow.

What was the first thing you learnt as a TEFL teacher?

PPP (presentation, practice and production) I guess! lol

What motivates/inspires you most?

Doing what I like motivates me!

roselibruno

Image by Roseli Serra at ELTpics

More often than I would like to!

Your favourite meal? Where? And perhaps with whom?

Moqueca (depending on the dialect, also spelled muqueca) is a Brazilianseafood stew based on fish, onions, garlic, tomatoes, and cilantro. It is cooked slowly, with no water added (taken from Wikipedia and totally accurate!).

With my partner!

A dream?

NYC (for good)

Favourite film?

Any of Woody Allen’s films. But Vicky Cristina Barcelona is a masterpiece in my opinion. You got to watch to see why! (Note from Fiona: And Graham Stanley is in it.. worth watching out for 🙂 )

Beach, mountains or city?

 

Image by @dan64pell at ELTpics

Image by @dan64pell at ELTpics

I make no distinction! I’m happy in any of them. It just depends on my mood (again)

Cinema or DVD at home?

DVD? Isn’t that something more advanced? At home, always! I love my couch, my TV and my fridge!

One thought on “The Burning Questionnaire: Bruno Andrade

Leave a Reply

